AssaultCube for Fedora!

AssaultCube is a multi-player game based on the free and open source cube engine but some of the media assets are non-free and hence the game is available in the RPM Fusion non-free repository for Rawhide and Fedora 19 (updates-testing repo for now).

Image

 

This was my first RPM Fusion package and it was a smooth ride since much of RPM Fusion infrastructure resembles Fedora Extras including the plague buildsystem, cvsextras branch and so on.  Thanks to folks reviewing the package and setting up cvs and other things necessary to complete this task.  I have another package, subtitleripper already waiting on review and I hope to contribute more as time permits. 

About mether

I am Rahul Sundaram, a Fedora contributor from India and a tech enthusiast. I am mether on irc.freenode.net. Email: sundaram AT fedoraproject.org if you want to get in touch with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AssaultCube for Fedora!

  1. John says:

    Congrats on your first RPM Fusion package! Screenshot looks awesome!

    I was still publishing RPMs out of my own repo back in the day of Fedora Extras, and only after koji’s advent did I finally become a Fedora packager (should’ve done that many years earlier). Plague was actually a bit of a shock to me, coming from koji (I run my own instance here in the shop).

    Thanks to RPM Fusion, Fedora users have trivial access to the bizarrely-licensed OpenCASCADE and fantastic derivative works like FreeCAD, and now AssaultCube, that can’t be included in Fedora. I do wish they’d update their infrastructure to match that of the Fedora Project, but I’m just thankful that they’ve achieved enough of a critical mass that most of the packages I need are accessible in a single place.

    • mether says:

      Oh, I am sure they are open to an infrastructure upgrade and simply lack the manpower necessary to deal with the change. If you are interested in helping out, you should post to the list about it.

  2. casep says:

    Hi!
    Lovely! I installed in my Fedora 18 using yum (yum directly to the rpm file on rpmfusion server 🙂 ) working OK!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

