Mute in awe

I remember the good old days when I had to struggle with Red Hat Linux 7.2 just to get my Ethernet card working.  Getting X to start was a entirely different ballgame.  These days, having Fedora working out of the box on pretty much any hardware I boot it on is just routine but the expectations have risen and little niggles that I wouldn’t consider a problem before bother me now.  One of those trivial items was the mute button in my office ThinkPad X200 not working in Fedora 14.  I talked to Matthew Garett on #fedora-desktop in gimpnet and he requested me to file a bug report and assign it to him but it turned out this problem was already reported upstream.   This is a long standing problem and has even been noted in the RHEL 6 technical notes.  I searched and found a boot option but it has a undesirable side effect of increasing power consumption in the laptop.  The trade off wasn’t worth it and I moved on.

I have been running Rawhide and more recently the Fedora 15 development branch for quite sometime and recently noticed that the mute button works!   Apparently a kernel update fixes this problem due to a series of patches merged upstream.    I have no more hardware issues to complain about.  Muted

About mether

I am Rahul Sundaram, a Fedora contributor from India and a tech enthusiast. I am mether on irc.freenode.net. Email: sundaram AT fedoraproject.org if you want to get in touch with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mute in awe

  1. Will Kemp says:

    I always used to be able to get Fedora to work out of the box, but i’ve had a Samsung N140 netbook for a bit over 18 months now, and getting the wireless ethernet to work seems to be getting harder! It just doesn’t work without ndiswrapper – and that simply wasn’t available for F14 until a month or two ago. Now i’ve upgraded to F15beta, it won’t work again (ndiswrapper’s available on rpmfusion, but the kmod doesn’t seem to be…) Groan!

    😉

Leave a Reply

